Spirit of Oliver


The Spirit of Oliver Awards are held every year to recognize outstanding members of our community who have contributed their time and efforts to create a better community for all. 

View the criteria for each of the categories below.

Individual Adult or Couple

Outstanding Community Group

Youth Award

Pioneer Family

Community Builder

Submit the  online form online form or pick up a nomination form at the Town Hall.

The Oliver Good Citizen Award was donated in 1950 by the Junior Chamber of Commerce.

First Recipient was Harold Wright

In 1961 the Junior Chamber of Commerce ceased to exist, and the trophy was reintroduced in 1966 by the Oliver Board of Trade, later to be renamed "Oliver Chamber of Commerce".

In 1990 it was decided to make two presentations; one to honour the pioneers who have helped to establish our  community and the other to honour our more recent good citizens.

Hence two plaques: "The Citizen Award" and "The Pioneer Award".

2016 Winners

                    - Sue Morhun — Heritage

                      - Larry Larson - Individual Adult

                      - Women of Oliver for Women — Group

                      - Ryan Encina — Youth

Hot Topics