Spirit of Oliver

Spirit of Oliver Awards logo

The Oliver Good Citizen Award was donated in 1950 by the Junior Chamber of Commerce.

First Recipient was Harold Wright.

In 1961 the Junior Chamber of Commerce ceased to exist, and the trophy was reintroduced in 1966 by the Oliver Board of Trade, later to be renamed “Oliver Chamber of Commerce”.

In 1990, it was decided to make two presentations; one to honour the pioneers who have helped to establish our  community and the other to honour our more recent good citizens.

Hence two plaques: “The Citizen Award” and “The Pioneer Award”.

2021 Winners 

The celebrations took place at the Oliver Parks & Recreation Community Hall on August 19th, 2022. A big THANK YOU to all nominees, nominators and volunteers. You are what makes Oliver great! 

Community Roots This award Honours individuals or groups that may have settled in greater Oliver following the establishment of the Fairview Townsite and surrounding areas including Osoyoos Indian Band lands. The Winner is Sally Franks

Group This award recognizes a community group that demonstrates an outstanding contribution to the community. The Oliver Mission Society

Youth This award recognizes an individual youth member who has demonstrated a commitment to our community and has made extraordinary volunteer contributions. The Winner is Kael Koteles

Individual This award recognizes the volunteer work of an individual adult or couple who have contributed significantly through voluntary service involving a variety of projects, groups and/or programs. The Winner is Marian Nelmes

Community Builder (Oliver Parks & Recreation Society Award) This award recognizes an individual or group that through voluntary activities have left a legacy that builds and improves our community and will enhance the quality of life of children, youth and families. The Winner is Dennis Frewin

Group Award – Special Mention  Special Mention was requested by the Spirit of Oliver Award Selection Committee to recognize the hard work of the volunteers and organizations that came together during the Nk’Mip Creek Fire last summer.  The Town of Oliver would like to recognize:

  • Oliver Emergency Support Services (ESS)
  • Oliver / Osoyoos Search and Rescue
  •  Oliver Volunteer Fire Department

2020 Winners:

Community RootsVance Potter
Individual AdultLouis & Jolanda Balog
GroupDesert Valley Hospice
YouthKelan Harty
Community Builder (Oliver Parks & Recreation Society Award)Janet Shaw